Courts Update 2 defeated BJP candidates file election pleas before Calcutta...

2 defeated BJP candidates file election pleas before Calcutta HC


Kolkata, Jul 17 (ILNS):

The Calcutta High Court has issued notices on the election pleas filed by two BJP leaders Swadhin Kumar Sarkar and Kalyan Chaubey.

The single-judge bench of Justice Amrita Sinha admitted the election petition of Swadhin Kumar Sarkar, who lost to Trinamool Congress candidate Chandana Sarkar by 2,426 votes from the Baisnabnagar constituency. The Court issued notice to the winning candidates and posted the matter for hearing on August 20.

Two candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), defeated in the recent assembly polls, have filed election pleas before the Calcutta High Court. On Friday, the judge issued notice on the pleas by Swadhin Kumar Sarkar and Kalyan Chaubey.
Sarkar was defeated by Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Chandana Sarkar by 2,426 votes from the Baisnabnagar constituency. The court issued notice to the winning candidate while posting the matter on August 20.

“Let notice be issued in terms of Rule 24 of the Election Petition Rules, 1967 as framed by this Court,” the court ruled while listing this matter for August 6.
In both petitions the court directed that all the equipment, devices, documents both physical and in the electronic form in connection with the election under challenge shall be preserved by the concerned authority till the disposal of the Election Petition.
It is pertinent to note that on July 16, a single bench of Justice Bibek Chaudhuri heard the election petition of TMC’s Alorani Sarkar, who lost the elections to BJP’s candidate Swapan Majumder by 2,008 votes.
The Court is of the view that the instant election Petition ought to be heard at the outset on the issue of maintainability.

Therefore, the preliminary issue was framed: “Is the instant election petition maintainable in law?” Observed the Bench while fixing the matter on July 30.
Earlier this month, BJP leader Biswanath Banerjee, who had lost the election from Mahishadal Vidhan Sabha constituency by 2386 votes had moved the court for a review of the results. ILNS/SS/SNG/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news

Supreme Court permits symbolic immersion of Ganesh idols, flays Centre for not abiding by Telangana High Court order

New Delhi Sept 16 (ILNS) The Supreme Court has allowed the symbolic immersion of Ganesh Idol this...

Bombay HC dismisses plea of former Mumbai Police Commissioner Param Bir Singh opposing inquiries against him by Maharashtra govt

Bombay Sept 16 (ILNS) The Bombay High Court on Thursday termed as non-maintainable, the petition filed by...

Delhi High Court grants time to petitioner saying Delhi govt formed Delhi Healthcare Corp without LG approval

New Delhi Sept 16 (ILNS) The Delhi High Court, on Wednesday, while hearing a plea alleging the...

Allahabad High Court asks Uttar Pradesh DGP, SIT members to clarify on police inaction in 2019 Mainpuri teen’s hanging

Allahabad Sept 15 (ILNS) The Allahabad High Court today in the investigation of the case regarding the...

Delhi High Court adjourns hearing in a plea seeking direction to Centre to appoint a chairperson to PMLA Appellate Tribunal

New Delhi Sept 15(ILNS): The Delhi High Court on Tuesday has adjourned its hearing till October 7 in...

SEBI disposes of adjudication proceedings initiated against Yes Bank Limited

Mumbai Sept 15(ILNS): The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) disposed of the instant adjudication proceedings...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you